Birthday Letters

As today (8th October) is both my birthday (20!) and National Poetry Day (21!), I thought I’d share a little poem with you all.

But, firstly, an update… Recently I’ve been combining my poems into collections that I’m planning to release somehow at some point, but aside from that the poetry output has decreased a little bit. I feel like putting them into collections has closed the chapter on the Poetry Frenzy a little, and now I need space to write occasionally and to try new things.

The next poetry books I’m about to read are Sylvia Plath’s Ariel (can you even read Birthday Letters if you’re not reading Ariel at the same time?!), Nayyirah Waheed’s Salt and I Wrote This For You: Just the Words, which is a collection of anonymous poems from something called pleasefindthis.

This is from the Poetry Frenzy (which would be a good name for a poetry book actually), and it’s called Leaf Water.

Make me tea in the rain, for a change.
I won’t drink it.
But it’ll sit there on the side going cold,
Like the memories of the person who brought it.
And when I look at it I’ll remember you,
I’ll make tea your symbol; it feels new.
The cup feels like everything we’ve gone through,
Smoothed out into one.
I try not to sip from it.
I let you be untouched.

Until someone else comes along and you make tea for them.
Well that’s okay,
For a little while I had you, tea-maker, hidden gem.

For the record, I don’t drink tea, but I guess that’s sorta the point.

One final thing before I leave you to celebrate my birthday (I’m envisaging a scene like the edited end of Return of the Jedi, where’s there’s loads of planets throwing parties across the galaxy), I’m going to be on my student radio! You can listen to me here, Livewire 1350, on Sundays 1.30-3. It’ll be an hour and a half of wonderful music, probably, and some poetry stuff.

Now go party x

 tumblr_inline_nohiiqwe7z1tookyi_500

Leave a Reply

